Accueil À propos Climat Forum Photos Trucs à savoir
Hôtels
Plages
Excursions
Quoi voir et visiter ?
Peso Convertible Cubain
Plages « Au Naturel »
Historique des ouragans à Cayo Largo

Cayo Largo est une toute petite île dans la mer des Caraibes. Il va sans dire que lorsque des ouragans frappent ce petit îlot, les dommages sont importants. Les changements climatiques n'augurent rien de bon pour l'avenir quoique imprévisible ces « monstres de la mer » défient très souvent les pronostiques. Ce qui a été le cas après l'année tragique de 2005, les experts prédisaient un 2006 encore plus horrible pour finalement s'avérer plutôt calme.

Heureusement comme aucun Cubain ne possède de résidence permanente sur l'ile, aucune perte de vie n'a été déplorée par les ouragans de ces dernières années. La saison des ouragans débute officiellement en juin et se termine en novembre. Historiquement les mois de septembre et octobre sont le plus à risque. Le grand perdant est sans contredit les plages de l'île. Même sans être affectées directement par un ouragan, les vents forts font disparaitre fréquemment les plages en automne.

Historiquement les plages de l'est ont toujours été les plus affectées par les vents forts. Il n'est pas surprenant de voir la plage devant l'hôtel Barceló complètement disparaitre en automne. Mais depuis 2001, ce sont maintenant les plages de Playa Lindamar qui en paie le prix. La plage devant les hôtels Sol Pelicano et Sol Cayo Largo peut facilement disparaitre pour quelques jours. Heureusement en hiver les plages reviennent, mais reste toujours fragile.

Nous sommes dans un cycle de grands vents partout dans les Antilles depuis quelques années. Nous avons connu Cayo Largo en 1999, et à cette époque c'est presque tout le temps une « mer d'huile ». On se souvient de raconter à nos amis comment la mer était calme à Cayo Largo. Comme quoi, il faut en profiter, car le passé est loin d'être garant du futur!

Michelle en 2001

Sans contredit, l'ouragan Michelle a été celui le plus dévastateur pour Cayo Largo. Il a frappé l'île le 4 novembre 2001 de force 4. Des vents de plus de 250 km/h, vagues de 6 mètres. Cliquer ICI pour tout savoir sur Michelle.

Aide aux sinistrés des ouragans de 2008

La saison 2008, quoique moins imposante que 2005 en nombre d'ouragans dans les Antilles a été particulièrement désastreuse pour Cuba. Le gouvernement cubain évalue les dommages à plus de 10 milliards de dollars.

L'ouragan Gustav a été dévastateur pour l'île de la jeunesse (connu sous le nom de Isla de la Juventud). Fidel Castro a même déclaré que les dommages de cet ouragan sur l'île étaient semblables à ceux provoqués par explosion nucléaire, et c'est peu dire! Quelques vidéos circulent sur le web et c'est ahurissant de voir la mer se déchainer à ce point!

Depuis sa création en 2000, le forum de discussion a servi à quelques reprises d'outil de communication pour venir en aide aux Cubains (articles, vêtements, médicaments, etc.). En 2001, après le passage de Michelle, les communications avec l'île étant interrompue, le forum est devenu le centre d'informations sur la reconstruction et la ré-ouverture des hôtels de l'île. Selon les autorités, le tourisme a pu reprendre de plus belle grâce au forum.

Une première sur le forum!

www.duboischaritablefoundation.com

En automne 2008, une initiative des gens des forums cayolargo.net et cayosantamaria.info a permis d'amasser des fonds qui ont été remis à la fondation Dubois pour venir en aide aux sinistrés de l'île de la jeunesse d'où bon nombre de travailleurs de Cayo Largo y vivent. Cliquer le logo ci-contre pour accéder le site de la fondation.

Dans un premier temps, il y a eu une collecte de fonds qui a été remis directement à la fondation.

Par la suite, il y a eu la conception d'un t-shirt symbolisant l'aide des Canadiens aux Cubains. Une première expérience de cette ampleur! La vente de ces t-shirts a permis d'amasser de l'argent pour l'achat de matériaux de construction, vêtements, articles ménagers et d'hygiène, etc. pour remplir un conteneur qui a été envoyé à Cuba par l'entremise de la fondation.

Un gros merci à tous ceux qui ont participé à cette aventure qui a fait bien des heureux durant cette période de détresse. Encore une fois la générosité des Canadiens a démontré qu'ils ont le peuple cubain à coeur.

Pour terminer, voici un mémo de M. John Dubois suite à la générosité des usagers du forum...

« We have received a very generous donation from the Cayo Largo board members to help in our efforts to make life better for our Cuban friends. It is nothing short of wonderful to feel the warmth of people on this board and their true love for the people of Cuba. We are so impressed with the tremendous response, and the way in which you have welcomed us and our cause into your community. We are blessed to be part of your family, and we thank you for opening your arms to us. Your kindness in large part will enable us to ship one extra container. In turn that makes an incredible difference in so many lives. Think about what you have done here: you have made the World a little bit better with your caring and your willingness to 'adopt' strangers (we at the Foundation) and to risk sending your support. We promise that we'll never forget your kindness. Merci. »

Top of page

Site Internet sur les ouragans:

  • AccuWeather.com
  • National Hurricane Center
  • Caribbean Hurricane
  • caribbean-on-line
  • Voici un bilan sommaire des tempêtes tropicales et ouragans ayant affecté Cayo Largo depuis l'an 2000 (causant des dommages plus ou moins importants):

    2000: nil
    2001: Michelle (novembre)
    2002: Isidore (septembre)
    2002: Lili (octobre)
    2003: nil
    2004: Charley (août)
    2004: Ivan (septembre)
    2005: Dennis (juillet)
    2005: Emily (juillet)
    2006: nil
    2007: Dean (août)
    2008: Gustav (août)
    2009: nil
    2010: nil
    2011: nil
    2012: nil
    2013: nil
    2014: nil

    Liens utiles:

    Forum de discussion
    Notre Album Photo
    Louer un taxi/scooter/jeep
    Les ouragans à Cuba
    Historique cayolargo.net
    Moteur de recherche
    Faire un signet

    Découvrez Cuba!


    www.varaderoguide.net

    Varadero est la destination la plus fréquentée de Cuba. Pour les amateurs de plage, d'hôtels pour tous les budgets et de nightlife.

    Quoi de neuf à Cuba?

    Accueil Forum de discussion Photos Excursions Joindre Lily & Normand
    Copyright © 2000- cayolargo.net, All Rights Reserved (Tous Droits Réservés)
    À propos des auteurs ... Nous sommes Lily and Normand, globetrotteurs et amoureux de Cuba. Nos voyages nous ont fait découvrir plusieurs beaux pays à travers le monde, mais Cuba aura toujours une place spéciale dans nos coeurs. Nous y sommes allés à plus de cinquante reprises, c'est comme notre "segunda casa". Nous sommes canadiens et avons besoin d'échapper à nos durs hivers de temps en temps! Voyager et faire des sites web personnels sont nos plus grandes passions. Les informations qui s’y trouvent découlent simplement de nos expériences et appréciations en tant que voyageurs. Tous nos sites web sont non-officiels et ouverts au grand public. Malgré que nous fassions notre possible pour partager des informations les plus exactes possible, nous ne pouvons être tenus responsables des changements, erreurs ou omissions. Aucune partie de notre site web ne peut être reproduite, modifiée, distribuée, publiée, diffusée, retransmise ou circulée sous toute forme sans avoir préalablement obtenu notre consentement.

Home About Weather Forum Gallery Things to know
Hotels
Beaches
Excursions
What to do and to see
Cuban Convertible Peso
« Au Natural » beaches
History of hurricanes in Cayo Largo

Cayo Largo is a tiny island in the Caribbean Sea. It goes without saying when hurricanes hit this small island, the damage is significant. The climate changes do not foresee anything good for the future of these unforeseeable « monsters of the sea ». They often ignore the prognostics which was the case after the tragic year of 2005, the experts predicted 2006 worse than 2005 for finally proven quite calm.

Fortunately Cubans do not have a permanent residence on the island so no loss of life have been reported by the hurricanes over of these years. The hurricanes season begins officially in June and finishes in November. Historically October and September are more at the risk. The great loser is indisputably The beaches in Cayo Largo. Even without being affected directly by hurricanes, the strong winds make the beach frequently disappears in fall.

Historically the east beaches were always affected by strong winds. It is not a surprise to see the beach in front of Barceló hotel completely disappear during fall seasons. But since 2001, the beaches of Playa Lindamar which used to be large are more affected than before. The beach in front of the hotels Sol Pelicano and Sol Cayo Largo can easily disappear for few days. Fortunately in winter, all beaches of Cayo Largo return but remains always fragile.

We are in a cycle of high winds everywhere in the Caribbean for few years. We discovered Cayo Largo in 1999, and at that time the beaches were calm almost all the time. We remember telling friends on how the sea was calm in Cayo Largo. Things have changed since then!

Michelle in 2001

Hurricane Michelle have been the worst of all in Cayo Largo. She hit the island on November 4th, 2001 (level 4). Gust winds of more than 250 km/h, waves of 6 meters. Click HERE to know more about hurricane Michelle.

Helps for victims of the hurricanes of 2008

The 2008 season, though less imposing than 2005 in numbers of hurricanes in the Caribbean, was particularly disastrous for Cuba. The Cuban government evaluates the damage to ten billion dollars.

Hurricane Gustav was devastator for the Youth island (known as Isla de la Juventud). Fidel Castro even declared that the damage of this hurricane on the island was similar to those caused by nuclear explosion, and it is little to say! Some videos of the unchained sea are so horrible to see. Hard to imagine how strong a hurricane can be!

Since its creation in 2000, the discussion forum was sometimes used for communication tools to help cubans in different ways (articles, clothing, medicines, etc). In 2001, after the passage of hurricane Michelle, the communications with the island stopped, the forum therefor became the center of the informations on the rebuilding and the reopening of the hotels of the island.

A first time in the forum!

www.duboischaritablefoundation.com

In autumn 2008, initiative from people of the cayolargo.net and cayosantamaria.info forums allowed raising funds to help cubans through the Dubois foundation for assistance of the disaster victims, especially on the Island of youth where most of the workers on the Cayo Largo live. Click the logo on left to access website of the foundation.

At the beginning, there was a fund raising to help cubans. The money was sending directly to the Fondation.

Thereafter, there was the design a T-shirt symbolizing the helps of the Canadians to their Cubans friends. That was the first time such as events took place in the forum. The sales of the T-Shirts allowed rising funds for the purchase of many goods like construction materials, clothing, domestic products, etc. to fill a container which was sent to Cuba by Dubois foundation.

We would like to thank everybody involved in this project to help people in great needs. As always Canadian shown a great generosity for their Cuban friends!

To conclude, here is a note from Mr. John Dubois about the generosity by the forums members...

« We have received a very generous donation from the Cayo Largo board members to help in our efforts to make life better for our Cuban friends. It is nothing short of wonderful to feel the warmth of people on this board and their true love for the people of Cuba. We are so impressed with the tremendous response, and the way you have welcomed us and our cause into your community. We are blessed to be part of your family, and we thank you for opening your arms to us. Your kindness in large part will enable us to ship one extra container. In turn that makes an incredible difference in so many lives. Think about what you have done here: you have made the World a little better with your caring and your willingness to 'adopt' strangers (, at the Foundation) and to risk sending your support. We promise that we'll never forget your kindness. Merci. »

Top of page

To know more about hurricanes:

  • AccuWeather.com
  • National Hurricane Center
  • Caribbean Hurricane
  • Caribbean-on-line
  • Here is a summary of tropical storms and hurricanes which affected Cayo Largo since 2000 (suffered major and minor damages):

    2000: nil
    2001: Michelle (November)
    2002: Isidore (September)
    2002: Lili (October)
    2003: nil
    2004: Charley (August)
    2004: Ivan (September)
    2005: Dennis (July)
    2005: Emily (July)
    2006: nil
    2007: Dean (August)
    2008: Gustav (August)
    2009: nil
    2010: nil
    2011: nil
    2012: nil
    2013: nil
    2014: nil

    Useful links:

    Our Discussion Forum
    Our Photo Album
    Rent a taxi, scooter or jeep
    Hurricanes Cuba
    History of cayolargo.net
    Search the site
    Bookmark this site

    Great destination in Cuba!


    www.varaderoguide.net

    Varadero is the most visited destination in Cuba for its beautiful beach, wide variety of hotels, excursions and nightlife.

    Homepage Bulletin board Photos Excursions Contact Lily & Normand
    Copyright © 2000- cayolargo.net, All Rights Reserved (Tous Droits Réservés)
    About the authors ... We are Lily and Normand, globetrotters and Cuba lovers. Our travels took us to many wonderful countries around the world, but Cuba will always have a special place in our heart. We have been there more than fifty times. We like to call it our "segunda casa". We are Canadians and we need to escape our harsh and long winters once and a while! Traveling and building personal websites are our greatest passions. The information which is ensued there is simply from our experience and appreciation as travelers. Our sites are non-officials and opened to general public. In spite of we did our best to share the most exact informations, we cannot be held responsible for changes, errors or omissions. No part of this website may be reproduced, modified, distributed, published, broadcast, retransmitted or circulated in any form without our prior consent.